• Register
  • EEE
  • Mech
  • Mechanical
Govt. of Kerala, Directorate of Technical Education
Saturday, 07 July 2007 09:54

The Department of Technical Education, Government of Kerala was established on 4th september 1957. The Department is functioning under the Higher Education Department, Govt. of Kerala. State Board of Technical Education with the Minister for Education as the Chairman & the Director of Technical Education as the convener also advise the Government and the Department in matters connected with Technical Education. Now there are 12 Engineering Colleges, 49 Polytechnic Colleges, 3 Colleges of Fine Arts, 39 Technical High Schools, 17 Govt. Commercial Institutes, 42 Tailoring and Garment Making Training Centres and 4 Vocational Training Centres under the Department. More than 7000 employees, belonging to different categories, are working in these institutions.

Technical education contributes substantially to the Socio Economic development of the country as a whole. The development sustenance of the industrial sector is entirely dependent upon the availability of trained manpower to perform the multidimensional activities needed to keep the wheel of industry running. The Technical Education Department aims towards making available these trained technically qualified hands to serve the industry and society. Technical Education system is thus made flexible enough to adapt to rapid change. In the state, the Department of Technical Education plays a lead role in the Technical Education sector.